» » Richmond Fontaine - Thirteen Cities
Richmond Fontaine - Thirteen Cities flac album

Richmond Fontaine - Thirteen Cities flac album

MP3 1818 mb. | FLAC 1610 mb. | WMA 1621 mb.

Performer: Richmond Fontaine
Title: Thirteen Cities
Country: US
Released: 2007
Style: Country Rock
Category: Rock
Rating: 4.9 ✦

Richmond Fontaine first gained exposure outside the USA through a song that was included on a Vinyl Junkie Records 'Loose' compilation released in the UK. This was followed by the band's self-released fourth album, Winnemucca. The band signed with Decor Records in Europe during 2003 with their next two releases proving pivotal to the band's success. Both were made "Albums of the Month" in influential magazine, Uncut, which named both their fifth album Post to Wire (2004) and sixth The Fitzgerald (2005) "masterpieces".

Unfortunately, Thirteen Cities then rather inexplicably runs out of ideas. The remaining tracks fall somewhere between the exuberantly melodic road trip blues of Post To Wire and the sparser, folkier intimacy of The Fitzgerald, but without being as good as either. Part of the problem is singer and band leader Willy Vlautin. As a result, the concept of a vivid, atmospheric tour around the disappearing American West is never fully realised, and Richmond Fontaine, while still delivering an accomplished album, fail to hit the heady heights of their last two works. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Licence.

Willy Vlautin, chief song writer and front man for Portland alt country act Richmond Fontaine, is one of those hyper-creative artists equally prolific in a number of different mediums; in the last ten years he’s released five albums with Richmond Fontaine, another with his female-fronted country soul outfit The Delines and he's also found time to write four acclaimed.


1 Intro/The Border 0:50
2 Moving Back Home #2 2:34
3 $87 Dollars And A Guilty Concscience That Gets Worse The Longer I Go 3:35
4 I Fell Into Painting Houses In Phoenix, Arizona 3:27
5 El Tiradito 3:50
6 A Ghost I Became 4:38
7 Westward Ho 2:33
8 St. Ides, Parked Cars, And Other People's Homes 1:38
9 The Kid From Belmont Street 3:44
10 Capsized 3:18
11 Ballad Of Dan Fanta 2:19
12 The Disappearance Of Ray Norton 3:11
13 Four Walls 4:29
14 Lost In This World 3:34

Companies, etc.

  • Copyright (c) – El Cortez Records
  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Winner's Casino Music
  • Distributed By – Shock Records Pty. Ltd.


  • Acoustic Guitar, Electric Guitar, Vocals – Willy Vlautin
  • Artwork – Nate Beaty
  • Clarinet – Jill Coykendall (tracks: 12)
  • Double Bass, Bass Guitar – Dave Harding
  • Double Bass, Synthesizer [Moog], Piano, Accordion, Percussion – Joey Burns (tracks: 5, 9, 12, 14)
  • Drums, Percussion, Backing Vocals – Sean Oldham
  • Electric Guitar, Acoustic Guitar, Lap Steel Guitar, Synthesizer [Moog] – Dan Eccles
  • Engineer – Chris Schultz (tracks: 1 to 6, 8 to 12, 14), Jake Hall (tracks: 13), Mike Coykendall (tracks: 7)
  • Guitar, Accordion, Organ, Piano – Nick Luca (tracks: 5, 6)
  • Harmonica – Craig Schumacher (tracks: 4)
  • Layout – Brian Bagdonas
  • Mixed By – Craig Schumacher (tracks: 1 to 6, 8 to 12, 14)
  • Pedal Steel Guitar, Trumpet, Resonator Guitar [Dobro], Piano – Paul Brainard (tracks: 2, 3, 5, 9, 10)
  • Piano – Howe Gelb (tracks: 3), Mike Coykendall
  • Piano, Accordion – Ralph Huntley (tracks: 7, 13)
  • Producer – JD Foster
  • Trumpet – Jacob Valenzuela (tracks: 2, 9)


Recorded at Wavelab Studios, Tuson, AZ except "Westward Ho" recorded at Blue Room Studios and "Four Walls" recorded at Audible Alchemy.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 5 021456 147533

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
un06 Richmond Fontaine Thirteen Cities ‎(CD, Album) Union un06 US 2007
Decor 010CD Richmond Fontaine Thirteen Cities ‎(CD, Album, Promo) Decor Records Decor 010CD UK 2007
DECOR 010CD Richmond Fontaine Thirteen Cities ‎(CD, Album) Decor Records DECOR 010CD UK 2007
DECOR010LP Richmond Fontaine Thirteen Cities (Complete Sessions) ‎(2xLP, Album, RE) Decor Records DECOR010LP UK 2016