» » Bob James - BJ4
Bob James - BJ4 flac album

Bob James - BJ4 flac album

MP3 1798 mb. | FLAC 1784 mb. | WMA 1595 mb.

Performer: Bob James
Title: BJ4
Country: US
Released: 1981
Style: Fusion, Smooth Jazz
Category: Jazz
Rating: 4.1 ✦
Other format: AUD XM RA VOC VQF DMF AC3

One is the second solo album by jazz keyboardist Bob James. It was an important album in the early smooth jazz genre and is famous for its end track, "Nautilus", which became important to hip hop as one of the most sampled tracks in American music. Released on April 17, 1974 this album charted at number two on the Jazz Album Charts. Valley of the Shadows" (James) – 9:42. In the Garden" (Johann Pachelbel) – 3:06. Soulero" (James, Richard Evans) – 3:22.

Heads is the fifth album by jazz musician Bob James, released in October 1977. It was his first album released on his newly formed Tappan Zee label, which was distributed at the time by Columbia Records. All of his Tappan Zee albums (which includes his CTI back-catalog) are now distributed by E1 Music. The album reached number one on the Billboard Jazz Albums chart. Heads" (Bob James) – 6:40. We're All Alone" (Boz Scaggs) – 5:33. I'm in You" (Peter Frampton) – 6:48. Night Crawler" (Bob James) – 6:20.

No one has said anything yet. Contributions By. ounk, lihanEAD.

BJ 4 starts off promising with a flugelhorn solo from the great Art Farmer, but the music soon sinks into pure commercialism. Bob James' keyboards are always prominent, as are the rather mechanical rhythms churned out by bassist Gary King, drummer Steve Gadd, and percussionist Ralph MacDonald. Although there are some catchy moments, the six selections (which all clock in between almost five and almost seven minutes) never seem to travel anywhere

Bob James - Albums-2003. Bob James - One, Two, Three & BJ4. CD. pe. og. ue. Bob James - One, Two, Three & BJ4 Disc .

CD extract of his last album on CTI (1977).

Follow Bob James amesMusic. BJ 4. Pure Imagination. Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip.


A1 Pure Imagination 5:22
A2 Where The Wind Blows Free 6:44
A3 Tappan Zee 6:51
B1 Nights Are Forever Without You 6:25
B2 Treasure Island 6:15
B3 El Verano 4:55


  • Arranged By – Bob James
  • Bass – Gary King
  • Cello – Alan Shulman, Charles McCracken
  • Design [Album] – Carole Kowalchuk, Sib Chalawick
  • Drums – Steve Gadd
  • Electric Piano [Fender Rhodes], Piano [Acoustic Grand], Clavinet, Synthesizer [Arp Odyssey, Oberheim Polyphonic] – Bob James
  • Engineer – Rudy Van Gelder
  • Guitar – Eric Gale
  • Oboe, English Horn – Sidney Weinberg
  • Percussion – Ralph MacDonald
  • Photography By [Cover] – Wendy Lombardi*
  • Photography By [Liner] – White Gate
  • Producer – Creed Taylor
  • Recorder [Alto] – George Marge
  • Soloist, Flute, Flute [Alto] – Hubert Laws
  • Soloist, Trumpet, Flugelhorn – Art Farmer
  • Tenor Saxophone, Bass Clarinet, Recorder [Tenor] – Romeo Penque
  • Tenor Saxophone, Flute, Clarinet – Eddie Daniels
  • Trumpet – John Frosk, John Gatchell
  • Viola – Emanuel Vardi, Lamar Alsop
  • Violin – Charles Libove, David Nadien, Emanuel Green, Harold Kohon, Harry Glickman, Matthew Raimondi, Max Ellen, Paul Gershman


Recorded at Van Gelder Studios, November/December 1976.

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
CTI 7074 Bob James BJ4 ‎(LP, Album, Gat) CTI Records CTI 7074 US 1977
CK 36838 Bob James BJ4 ‎(CD, Album) Columbia CK 36838 US Unknown
CTI6536 Bob James BJ4 ‎(LP, Album, Gat) CTI Records CTI6536 South Africa 1977
63020 Bob James BJ4 ‎(LP, Album) CTI Records 63020 Germany 1977
CTI 7074 Bob James BJ4 ‎(LP, Album, Promo, Gat) CTI Records CTI 7074 US 1977